Final Fantasy 9?

The first question to answer: Why?

The Final Fantasy series has been around for a long while, and it has a fan base like no other game series. It is an enchanting mix of story telling and game play, excelling at both without losing in either. And FF9 is my personal favorite of the series, so far. I know I’ll get gripe about this “How can you not pick FF7?!” “What about 8?” “Noob!”

But there’s something about this particular game that has me enthralled with it. I don’t know that I can put it in words. The game play is simple but fun, the plot is serious (saving the world business) but the humor and wit present throughout is its perfect counterpoint.

Now, my readers, I suppose you’re wondering how I will analyze FF9 without basically typing up a manuscript of it? Well, it’s elementary, my dear reader. Okay, maybe not elementary, but probably middle school, high school at the latest – I’m going to use YouTube! But don’t worry! You’re not going to have to sit through the 30+ hours of dialogue, all you’ll have to do is watch the short 2-5 minute cutscenes per post. I’ll fill in the pertinent information surrounding it.

Here’s how it’s going to go down: I found a convenient playlist of all of the cutscenes in FF9 on YouTube – Thank you Painful112 of YouTube! Now, if you feel like getting a head start, feel free to head over to Painful112’s channel (linked to his name there) and look for his playlist ‘Final Fantasy IX Cutscenes.’

However, if you haven’t ever played 9 (and you don’t have the 30 hours to invest [though you really should, it’s a great play]) please head over to Wikipedia and read this page. After reading that, it should be fairly simple to keep up with my analysis.

Happy gaming!

Leave a comment

Filed under Play Station, RPG

Add to the discourse...

